Navigating the Cheat Meal

screen-shot-2016-10-16-at-12-22-04-pmNowadays I stay pretty darn lean year around. I take gaining muscle at a slower pace so I don’t gain too much body fat. And it makes getting extremely cut fairly easy. I accomplish this by being very consistent with my diet at all times. That does not mean I stay away my favorite foods such as donuts, pizza, Mexican, and my famous (at least in my household) home made bacon, egg, and cheese English Muffin sandwiches. Here are my tips to enjoy your absolute favorite foods and stay on track with your fitness goals. I follow these guidelines myself on a weekly basis with the exception of 2 weeks before a contest. So yes, that means 3 weeks out from competition I still have cheat meals.

  • Have a set number of cheat meals a week not cheat days. I give myself 2 cheat meals every week when I eat and drink whatever I want until I am comfortably full. I am bringing in nutrition 7-8 times a day so these 2 meals is a very small percentage of my weekly intake especially with the adjustments I make around the cheat meals themselves.
  • Plan your cheat meals. Know when they will be so you can plan the rest of your day in preparation. My cheat meals are typically going out to eat with the family or ordering pizza. This is normally on a Fri-Sun evening.
  • The day of a cheat meal I make sure to eat lower carbs because my cheat meals are generally high in carbs and fat. So my breakfast will be just a whey shake upon waking and 6 eggs (3 full and 3 whites). I drop my oatmeal and fruit the morning of cheat meals. Often I will do this the morning after a cheat meal as well.
  • Since my cheat meals are almost always dinner around 5-6pm I try not to eat again afterwards. If I do get hungry I pull out my Kaged Muscle Hydracharge, BCAA’s, and Glutamine and mix it all up in 20 ounces of water and sip on it. This normally does the trick.
  • I take Kaged Muscle’s Clean Burn 3x a day- 2 caps 30 minutes before breakfast, lunch, and dinner to turn my body into a fat burning machine.
  • On days of my epic cheat meals I make sure to get in a killer, high calorie burning workouts. My weekend workouts are often high intensity interval training sessions that I can do at home. Ideally I try to do two separate cardio sessions around my weekend cheat meals. Here are the two cardio workouts I did around yesterday’s cheat meal: Workout 1 and Workout 2.

-Wittig, ISSA CPT

Wittig fueled by Kaged Muscle Supplements. 15% off KagedMuscle.com w/code “Wittig15”. Email receipt to Michael@WittigWorks for a free copy of my ebook program.

kagedmuscle2

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

Leave a Reply

