Taking Leg Day Seriously

img_056222I take all my workouts dead serious. Fitness is not a hobby for me. This involves my health, influences my kids, and provides for my family. Leg day is the most important of them all because it affects my cardiovascular system, reduces fat, and builds muscle more than any other muscle group. I do everything possible to make sure I am physically and mentally prepared to perform at the highest level for every workout, but especially leg day. Here is the run down of things I do and consider before every single leg workout.

*Proper Sleep: It’s very important to get proper sleep, at least 7 hours, the night before leg day. When I get less it affects my performance.

*Nutrition: I make sure to bring in proper nutrition the day before and especially the mornings of leg workouts. I never drink the night before. I eat a little extra carbs the morning before the beat down begins. P28 Foods high protein pancake mixes are my breakfast of choice on leg day. I make 2 big Belgium waffles with fruit, nuts, and Greek yogurt.

*Mental preparation: I start visualizing my leg workout the day before. I run through what I want to accomplish and have the workout outlined. I know its going to hurt so give myself time to accept it so I can attack it full force without holding back.

*Warming Up: When I get to the gym I make sure to get in at least 5 minutes on a treadmill or recumbent bike to warm up. This is very important to do before stretching. You don’t want to stretch cold.

*Stretching: After my 5 minute warm up I take 10 minutes to really stretch out my lower back and hamstrings. This helps me perform better and prevent potential injury.

*Proper Shoes: Foot wear can and will affect your performance when it comes to squats, lunges, deadlifts, and all the fun exercises. You don’t want a elevated heel. You need a good grip and ankle support. I have personally found Ryderwear D-Maks to be the best for weight lifting. I currently have 4 pair and will not wear anything else while lifting especially on leg day. Get 10% off Ryderwear.com with code WW10.

*Supplementation: If everything else is in place the right supplements give me that extra energy, strength, endurance, hydration, and recovery capabilities. Here is how I supplement around my leg workouts for maximum performance:

Before Workout: Pre-Kaged pre-workout, 2 scoops Citrulline, 1 scoop Creatine HCL. I mix this is 16oz of water and drink 30 mins before my workouts.

During Workout: I drink 1 scoop of whey (25g protein) at the beginning of my workout. 20 minutes into my workout I start drinking In-Kaged with 1 scoop of Citrulline. I make it with 20oz of water and sip on throughout my workout.

Post Workout: 1 scoop of Re-Kaged with 1 scoop Creatine HCL mixed in 10oz of water.

**Note that around my workouts I am drinking 55-65oz of water. Stay hydrated.

I take Kaged Muscle supplements exclusively. Get 15% off Kagedmuscle.com with code Wittig15.

kagedmuscle2

Check out my latest Leg workout in details on my Facebook.com/WittigWorks.

-Wittig, ISSA CPT
Kaged Muscle Athlete

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

Leave a Reply

