Dramatic Training Principle in Action

I am always watching and learning from those around me. Even though I am a certified trainer myself I take every opportunity possible to learn something new from others. I then apply my favorite new things into my personal programs. Long before I became a Kaged Muscle Athlete I looked up to international trainer of the year Kris Gethin because of his intensity and search for pain. He is well known for his Dramactic Training Principle or DTP which produces some of the most demanding workouts I’ve ever put myself through. I apply the concept of DTP into my personal programs every now when I am wanting punishment. I am going to break down a basic DTP set and show you an example.

DTP in Action

Leg Extension: 5 sets of 50, 40, 30, 20, 10 reps
*Rest 120 seconds between sets
*Shoot for failure in the indicated rep ranges

Leg Extension (Final set 6th set): 10, 20, 30, 40, 50 reps
*Use your 20-30 rep weight from above
*Incorporate Rest Pause as necessary (rest 5-10 seconds then continue)
*Get ready for torture
*Perform as follows: 10 reps, rest 10 secs, 20 reps, rest 20 secs, 30 reps, rest 30 secs, 40 reps, rest 40 secs, 50 reps to finish. Use the same weight and pause rest when necessary.

Here is me performing that final, long set!

-Wittig, ISSA CPT

Wittig Fueled by Kaged Muscle Supplements. Get 15% off Kagedmuscle.com with code Wittig15.

Black Raptor lifting shoes by Ryderwear. The only shoe I wear while lifting. Get 10% off Ryderwear.com with code WW10.

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

Leave a Reply

