Post-Competition Mindset

snapchat-764597934This last Saturday I competed at the NANBF USA Super Pro all-natural and tested competition in the Men’s Physique Open and Masters 40+ classes. I placed 1st in Masters and 2nd in Open against some great physiques. I got to hang out with some good friends and made some new ones along the way. I did miss my family being able to join me in Oklahoma City for the event. Their presence was missed. While I am very pleased with how I did what matters to me most is the concept of making up ones mind to do something, working hard to make it happen, and following through until the very end. I am proud of every competitor that showed up regardless how they placed. These guys had a vision and saw it through to completion and did something many only talk about. Use this as encouragement to go do that one thing you’ve been wanting to do and stop talking about it.

snapchat-2072239916

Afterwards the eating began! My friends Sam, Eric (Open 1st place) and family, and I went to BJ’s where I enjoyed 1/2 rack of ribs, wedge fries, cheesy mashed potatoes, and the best warm cookie cake with ice cream on top. Oh, and that is not it. After my 2 hour drive home I got cleaned up and took the family out for Hideaway Pizza. Yesterday (Sunday) wasn’t nearly as bad, but did include some donuts and brownies. Friday morning I weighted 182 and today (Monday) I weight 189. A lot of that is water weight because those carbs made me thirsty, but still.

15025179_10210831785130588_5058276789901330220_oToday I am back at it. You can’t keep me away from the gym. Most people take a few days off to rest after competing. But no rest for the wicked. I just love it too much. Not working out and getting off eating schedule even for a few days was messing with me mentally. I felt a tinge of depression even. I like the discipline and structure. I think it keeps me sane if that makes any sense. It helps put my life in balance. I went to the gym today without a plan and just enjoyed it. I didn’t lift extremely hard because our bodies do need some respite from the beat downs. While I will enjoy more of my favorite foods in general I will eat clean and on schedule. What’s next? I am going to keep enjoying this journey and focus on my family during this holiday season. Then I will crush 2017 in many ways. Watch and see.

2016-11-06-15-21-46

Love and thanks to my wife Stacie and children Kaden, Kyler, Kinley, and Kennedie for putting up with all this. Special thanks to my friends and ALL of you. Radical thanks to my sponsors and friends at Kaged Muscle Supplements (Kris Gethin, Nick, Nate, and the rest of the crew), RyderWear (Sally and crew), SwoleO’Clock, 6 Pack Bags, P28 Foods, and Shields of Strength.

Go do that ONE thing!

-Wittig, ISSA CPT

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

Leave a Reply

