Functional Cardio: The Monstrosity

wittig-1503Who likes to challenge themselves? I got the perfect little routine for you. Every Sunday I go to the studio where I train clients (Elite Training Tulsa) and come up with routines on the spot to push myself. These are typically lower body focused functional HIT cardio type workouts. This latest one I put myself through I called “The Monstrosity”. It really kicked my butt- perfect! I am thinking of doing something similar here soon and stepping it up. Give this a go and let me know what you think.

The Monstrosity Circuit: Do each of these back to back with no rest for 1 round. Do 4 rounds total.

A. Box Jumps: 15-20 reps. I prefer to use a height I know I can make and just jump higher versus running the risk of face planting.

B. Squats: 10 reps. These are barbell squats going very deep, full range, and slow. I used just 135lbs.

C. Kettle Bell Swings: 15-20 reps. Sumo position and swing high. I used a 35lb kettle bell.

D. Squats: 10 reps.

E. Ball Slams: 15-20 reps. I used a 20lb weighted ball. Hold it high overhead and slam down with as much force as you can. Drop the hip to pick it up on the rebound.

F. Squats: 10 reps.

G. Rope Slams: 30 reps. Using battle ropes double slam. Switch out if you do not have access to battle reps.

H. Squats: 10 reps.

I. Walking Lunges w/Twist: 10 steps each leg. I held a weighted ball and did a slow side-to-side twist at the bottom of each rep. These lunges were done wide and deep.

J. Squats: 10 reps.

So you are hitting 50 slow, deep squats each round and 200 total. Have fun.

*Keep your energy and intensity at top levels with Kaged Muscle “In-Kaged” inta-workout. I mix 1 scoop with 20 oz of water and sip on throughout each workout. It keeps me pushing hard until the very end during demanding workouts like the above. Get 15% off Kagedmuscle.com with my code “Wittig15”.

-Wittig, ISSA CPT
Kaged Muscle Athlete

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

Leave a Reply

