Stay Fit During the Holidays

Thanksgiving is only a few days away. Just because a holiday centered around a huge meal is coming up does not mean we need to throw our fitness goals out the window or even put them in hold. There is a way to enjoy this holiday with your family and stay on track. Here are a few tips I follow every Thanksgiving when we head up to in-laws:

screen-shot-2016-10-04-at-1-54-49-pm1. Plan Ahead: This is especially important if you are traveling. Pack everything you think you will need. I typically bring a box or laundry basket filled with food and supplements. I can’t expect or depend on others to have the kind of food I need on a daily basis. If you will be gone for multiple days and don’t think you will make it to a gym bring resistance bands or some type of workout gear. Plan your workouts before and after the holiday so you don’t miss a beat.

2. Traveling food: If you will be traveling don’t start off on the wrong foot. Make sure you bring water and healthy snacks for the trip. I always load up my 6 Pack Fitness meal management bag for road trips. Because it keeps everything fresh and cold I can even pack an actual meal. Check out 6 Pack Bags and get 10% off HERE. Gas station and fast food is a killer.

3. Grocery stop: While I bring what dry goods I can in a box if I am going to be out of town for multiple days I sometimes swing by a grocery store and pick up whatever else I need. I attempt to eat like normal regardless wherever I am.

4. Thanksgiving day: Treat your Thanksgiving meal like a typical cheat meal. I give myself 2 planned cheat meals a week. I will eat and drink whatever I want until I am comfortably full. This is just another one. No difference. Don’t make it a free for all the entire day. Eat a little lighter breakfast. After your Thanksgiving feast try not to keep snacking on the higher carb and fatty foods. Lean towards the lean turkey and veggies.

5. Do some cardio: Chances are most of us will not hit the gym on Thanksgiving because we will be with family. But there is no reason we cannot find 20 minutes to go jog or do a short cardio circuit in our guest room. Do this before Thanksgiving dinner and do at least 20 minutes.

6. Back to workouts: If possible try to hit a gym the days after Thanksgiving even if you are out of town. I always hit the YMCA in Salina, KS during Thanksgiving weekend. Most gyms have a guest day pass or small fee of $10-20. Just pay it and stay on track. If getting to a gym is just impossible pick up a set of resistance bands. Check out my resistance band workout that can be done anywhere HERE.

20161022_145716

-Wittig, ISSA CPT

Custom Programs and Nutrition Plans: WittigWorks.com

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

Leave a Reply

