My Current Split: Building Muscle

I am just starting a gaining cycle and am really concentrating on specific weak areas. I thought I would share the new split I designed and some of my strategy. Maybe it will help give you ideas for tailoring your own split.

The areas I am really prioritizing are my back (width), traps, calves and abs. I decided to do something I’ve never done before which is hit those body parts three times a week (3x). Yes, my sessions are fairly long. I have the time and my Kaged Muscle Pre-Kaged and In-Kaged keep me pushing hard until the very end. The muscle groups that are only getting hit once a week I am smashing with high volume (20+ sets). The muscle groups getting worked 2-3 times a week will have less volume per session, but more total volume per week. I accomplish this amount of volume by supersetting the smaller muscle groups. I frequently post my full workouts in detail on my Facebook.com/WittigWorks.

Day 1 (Monday):15025179_10210831785130588_5058276789901330220_o
Back: 15-18 sets (slightly more because of 72 hours recovery)
Biceps: 8-10 sets, superset with calves
Calves: 8-10 sets, superset with biceps
Rear Delts: 4-5 sets, superset with traps
Traps: 4-5 sets, superset with rear delts
Abs: 8-10 sets (done at another time of day)

Day 2 (Tuesday):
Chest: 20 sets
Shoulders: 13-15 sets
*I was short on time this last Tuesday. There is a chance I will shift or add some work on this day.

Day 3 (Wednesday):
Back: 15 sets
Triceps: 20 sets. Many were supersets
Rear Delt: 4 sets
Abs: 8-10 sets, superset with traps
Traps: 6-8 sets, superset with abs
Calves: 12 sets, done as 6 supersets

Day 4 (Thursday):img_05982
Thighs: 20-25 sets
Hamstrings: 10-12 sets

Day 5 (Friday):
Back: 12-14 sets
*Biceps: 12 sets, superset with shoulders
Shoulders: 12 sets, superset with biceps
Traps: 4 sets
Calves: 10 sets
*While I hit Biceps twice this week I will probably hit Triceps twice next week (M & F) and continue alternating those week to week.

Day 6 (Saturday):
Active Recovery
Light Cardio 20-30 mins
Abs: Body weight 10 sets

Day 7 (Sunday):
HIIT Cardio with lower body focus (1 hour) img_0935
or
Functional Cardio: box jumps, battle ropes, ball slams, kettle bell swings, etc. (60-90 minutes)

Understand this is a work in progress and that I lift very instinctively meaning I will adjust things as I go.

Get Pre-Kaged, In-Kaged, and Re-Kaged post workout directly on Kagedmuscle.com. Use my code “Wittig15” to save 15%. It’s how I hammer these long sessions and get killer results at 40 years old all natural.

-Wittig, ISSA CPT
Kaged Muscle Athlete

Lift shoes and apparel by RyderWear. Get 10% off Ryderwear.com/Wittig and use my code “Wittig10”.

Watch by SwoleO’Clock. Get yours at Swoleoclock.com/Wittig.

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

Leave a Reply

