Rule of 7 Calf Workout

My new program has me slamming calves 3x a week so I have tons of opportunity to design creative ways torture my calves and stimulate new muscle growth. This last routine had my calves screaming and sore the next day. I call this routine “The Rule of 7”.

1. Seated Calf Raise: 2 sets of 63+ total reps each. The 63+ reps are broke into 9 mini-sets of 7 reps. Each of these 9 mini-sets (A-I) are done one after another with only enough rest to switch the weights. I will show my weights used as an example. All reps are done strict, slow, and through full range of motion unless noted otherwise. Rest 90 seconds between the 2 actual sets. img_0986
A. 7 reps with 45lbs
B. 7 reps with 70lbs
C. 7 reps with 90lbs
D. 7 reps with 115lbs
E. 7 reps with 135lbs*
F. 7 reps with 115lbs
G. 7 reps with 90lbs
H. 7 reps with 70lbs
I. 7 reps with 45lbs
*This set had a little swing to it.

2. Calf Press: 7 sets of 20, 15, 12, 10, 10, 8, 30 reps. Rest only 60 seconds between sets. Alternate feet out and in from set to set. Do 7 additional partial reps at the end of each set.

-Wittig, ISSA CPT
Kaged Muscle Athlete

Related Articles:
Calves Superset Workout
Build Calves with Eternal Sets

Wittig is fueled by Kaged Muscle Supplements. Get 15% off Kagedmuscle.com with code Wittig15.

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

Leave a Reply

