Tricking the Sick

This last Thursday I hit a ugly leg workout, but this particular one really beat me down. I actually Snapped (Snapchat: WittigWorks) that I might have worked myself sick. Well, I realized about an hour later I was indeed sick and coming down with the stomach flu. I can typically tough it out with colds and minor sickness, but the stomach flu is the worst type of sickness for us fitness freaks because we can’t eat. Losing weight while being sick is the worst because without the calories it is not only fat being lost, but muscle also. For the record I won’t lift if I have a terrible cough or the stomach flu. Here are the 3 things I did to recovery quickly and prevent muscle loss:

1. Rest and Sleep: As soon as I realized what was going on I went straight home and got ready for bed. Toughing through certain types of sickness will only prolong it. Rest is best.
2. Slow Digesting Protein: Since I wasn’t hungry and couldn’t really eat I had to devise a way to prevent muscle catabolism. My answer was the slow digesting protein Kasein. Some with the stomach flu may not be able to hold this down. The secret is to not chug it. I just sipped on this throughout the evening and next morning. I held it all down and ended up ingesting 50 grams of protein this way. I recommend and prefer Kaged Muscle Kasein because of its great taste, 3rd party tested for purity, and smooth texture. Get 15% off Kagedmuscle.com with my code “Wittig15”.
3. Stay Hydrated: While sipping on my Kasein I also prepared another 16oz of water mixed with Kaged Muscle’s Hydracharge, BCAA’s, and Glutamine. This mixture tastes great, hydrates, but also helps my body recovery and hold muscle. I was able to hold this down by sipping slowly throughout the night.

Once the worst of a stomach flu is over it’s going to still take a while to get your full appetite back and full strength/endurance in the gym. Try to get back to your eating schedule and just do your best. There has been a few times I just couldn’t eat near what I needed too so I made up the calories with a huge cheat meal. Pace yourself in the gym. Yes, still hit it hard, but realize your body is still recovering. You might do lower volume workouts for the days following stomach flu recovery.

I hope none of you get this virus going around, but if you do I hope my experience and tips help you keep your gains. 15874938_10211425429771333_8565088634346834936_o

-Wittig, ISSA CPT
P.S. My first gym session back after being sick. Look how happy I look ha.

*Get 15% off the products mentioned above on Kagedmuscle.com with code “Wittig15”.

*Full outfit and shoes by Ryderwear. Get 10% off everything Ryderwear.com/Wittig with code “Wittig10”.

 

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

Leave a Reply

