My Contest Peak Week: Part 1

IMG_6819

Unless you are a competitor most people will not know what the term “Peak Week” means. It’s basically the final days leading up to a contest when you should dial in your physique for the stage. You may talk to 5 different people and hear 5 different peak week methods. I don’t believe there is just one way to fine tune your physique before a show. It depends on what works for a particular person. But we should seek the advice of professionals who have done it before and coaches others. It’s a very particular process that you would never really undergo during normal circumstances. Understand that just losing weight and preparing for a fitness show or photoshoot are two completely different things. While we do cut body fat at the beginning in very similar ways peak week for a contest can get extreme. There is no need under normal circumstances to get as extreme as I have been lately. Understand I am not saying this is “the” way to handle peak week, but just how I am going about it. I have to give major props for IFBB pro Jonni Shreve for his advice and guidance on this contest prep. I do feel I am in the best shape of my life here several days out from the NANBF Tulsa Natural Bodybuilding Championships. At 40 years old I am competing in Men’s Physique Open (against the 20 and 30 year olds), Masters 40+, and Mr. Oklahoma.

Before Peak Week: I was lifting intensity 5x a week, hitting home HIIT workouts on Saturday and Sunday, doing daily cardio 30 minutes building up to 60 minutes, and slowly reducing calories by carb cycling. For 2 weeks before peak week I was doing non-stop supersets of Chest/Back, Triceps/Biceps/Delts, Legs/HIIT.

Peak Week: The show is on Saturday so here is what I have been doing Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. Part 2 of my peak week I will post after the contest.

The goal in short is to deplete glycogen from muscle by having no complex carbs and training. Hydrate like crazy by drinking loads of water and increasing sodium. Then dry out by reducing water and sodium, and increasing carbs to soak up the remaining water.

Monday:
Workout: Back and Chest supersets. Cardio 60 minutes (recumbent bike and stairs)
H2O: 1 Gallon. This includes water used in whey, Pre-Kaged, In-Kaged, Re-Kaged. I just drank (8) eight 16oz shaker bottles worth.
Sodium: High. I salted all my eggs, lean meats, and veggies every meal.
Food: strawberries and whey, 1 egg & 8 whites, 8oz lean meat & 1 cup green veggies (3x), pre/post workout whey, evening casein protein.
Supplements: Whey, Pre-Kaged, In-Kaged, Re-Kaged, Hydracharge, BCAA, Glutamine, multi-vitamin.

Tuesday:
Workout: Triceps/Biceps/Delt giant sets. Cardio 60 minutes (recumbent bike and stairs)
H2O: 1 Gallon
Sodium: High
Food: strawberries and whey, 1 egg & 8 whites, 8oz lean meat & 1 cup green veggies (3x), pre/post workout whey, evening casein protein.
Supplements: Whey, Pre-Kaged, In-Kaged, Re-Kaged, Hydracharge, BCAA, Glutamine, multi-vitamin.

IMG_0348  IMG_0349
*Note: Using mustard and my Six Pack Fitness #FlavorAmp hot sauce because zero carbs. Get 10% off SixPackbags.com with my code Wittig10.

Wednesday:
Workout: Upper body circuit training. I picked one exercise for each Chest, Back, Delts, Triceps, and Biceps and hit them all back to back with no rest. 15 reps each exercise. 4 rounds. I changed up the exercises each round to hit different angles.
H2O: Up to 1.5 Gallons
Sodium: High
Food: strawberries and whey, 1 egg & 8 whites, 8oz lean meat & 1 cup green veggies (3x), pre/post workout whey, evening casein protein.
Supplements: Whey, Pre-Kaged, In-Kaged, Re-Kaged, Hydracharge, BCAA, Glutamine, multi-vitamin. + Dandelion Root (8000mg 3x with meals) to help shed water.

Thursday, Friday, and morning of the show will be different than the above. I will post Part 2 after the show. I am 2 days out! Almost go time. I appreciate all of your messages and notes of encouragement. It means a lot to me. Follow it all on my Snapchat “WittigWorks” and Instagram.com/WittigWorks “Story”.

Note: I am able to drink so much water only with the help of my Kaged Muscle Hydracharge. Get 15% off everything Kagedmuscle.com with my code Wittig15.
Michael Wittig, ISSA CPT
Kaged Muscle Athlete

**Sick tank by Ryderwear. Get 10% off everything Ryderwear.com/Wittig with my code Wittig10.

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

Leave a Reply

