Why and How I ‘De-Load’

Why and How I ‘De-load’

IMG_1215

Every 2-3 months of intense exercise, or upon the completion of a program, I recommend taking a planned ‘De-load’. This is a less intense week of exercising to allow the body to fully recover. It’s more than just muscles that need recovery, but also tendons, ligaments, the central nervous system, and hormone levels. Continued stress without a break can actually stall progress and possible cause harm. I personally never take an entire week or more off from the gym. I did this once thinking it would be a good thing, but I felt terrible and vowed to never do that again. De-loads allow extreme recovery so we can break new ground in the future. Here are my personal guidelines to de-loading:

  • 60% of my normal volume.
  • 60% of my normal weight.
  • Don’t lift to failure.
  • Rep ranges typically in the 12-15+.
  • No Deadlifting.
  • No HIIT cardio.
  • Do steady state cardio.
  • Slower lifting.

These workouts are much shorter and just fun. Instead of high intensity lifting concentrate on feeling each movement- the stretching and flexing. You should still get an awesome pump lifting this way. It’s possible it might take concentration to not over due it. Remember de-loads are important and needed. They not only help minimize injury, but allow full recovery so I can work even harder. I just finished my de-load week and now it’s back to heavy, intense lifting tomorrow. Follow my daily workouts on Snap/Story WittigWorks.

Wittig, ISSA CPT
IPE Natural Pro 3X Champ
Kaged Muscle Athlete
All socials: WittigWorks

Author: wittigworks

ISSA Certified Personal Trainer Kaged Muscle Athlete

One thought on “Why and How I ‘De-Load’”

Leave a comment